The last centuries that marked the history of Uggiate Trevano saw the importance of the role played by a great family, the Somainis, whose most important properties also included Tenuta dell'Annunziata, built and structured by Francesco Somaini, an entrepreneur and founder of the cotton mill he opened in Lomazzo in 1893, which now hosts the “Como Next” scientific-technological park.
The current name of the property may stem from Annunziata Coduri, although little is known about her.
What is certain, however, is that the strategic position of the hill made it an interesting hill fort since Roman times, with Switzerland on one side and the Uggiate hill on the other, making it possible to see Brianza and, on clear days, Milan and its buildings as well.
After Mr. Somaini passed away in 1939, his wonderful property, which has always been a place where going for a walk, surrounded by the nature of its woods, the local heaven of peace, remained in the ownership of the family, who had left it unused until it was purchased in 2007 by the Pezzoli-Guffanti family. They started outstanding restoration work, also building the current natural relais, a charming holiday farm offering homemade products in an exclusive design setting.
Art, care, wellness and nature are the historical values of Tenuta de l'Annunziata.